Universiteit van Antwerpen
21/03/2019 - 03:11
ELA Board and Staff
Prof. Gracienne Lauwers (PhD) is board member of the European Association for Education Law and Policy and combines this job with teaching the courses 'comparative education law and policy', 'education law', 'European education law and policy', and 'internationalisation of education and training’. She is professor 'hoogleraar' at the Vytautas Magnus University (Faculty of Law), and lectures at the Free University of Brussels (Faculty of Law), the University of Vilnius (Faculty of Law), the University of Trento (Faculty of Law), the National Research University Higher School of Economics (Russia), and Tirana Business University (Albania). She was responsible from 2005 till 2015 for developing '2043OIWORE education law' and '2044OIWIOO internationalisation of education and training' at the University of Antwerp (Faculty of Social Sciences, Department of Educational Sciences) and has written numerous articles on education law.

Education history
• Ph.D. Law, University of Tilburg, 2005
• master (J.D.) Law, University of Leuven, 1991
• bachelor (B.Phil) Law, University of Leuven, 1988
• master in Slavonic Studies, University of Leuven, 1988
• bachelor in Slavonic Studies, University of Leuven, 1986

Email: glauwers@me.com

ELA Board

The Board  is responsible for approving and for controlling the Association’s policy and work programme. Members of the board are:

  • Piet Akkermans† (Rector of the College of Europe)
  • Antonio Barbas Homem (Portugal - University of Lisbon)
  • Walter Berka (Austria - Universität Salzburg)
  • Jan De Groof (Belgium - College of Europe, Chargé de Mission to UNESCO for the Right to Education)
  • Germain Dondelinger† (Luxemburg - Ministère de la Culture de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche)
  • Antonio Embid Irujo (Spain - Universidad de Zaragoza)
  • Theodore Fortsakis (Greece - University of Athens)
  • Hans Peter Füssel (Germany – Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Charles Glenn (USA - Boston University)
  • Dympna Glendenning (Ireland)
  • Stig Klingstedt (Norway)
  • Gracienne Lauwers (Belgium – Vrije Universiteit Brussel & Universiteit Antwerpen)
  • André Legrand (France - University Paris X-Nanterre)
  • Paul Meredith (United Kingdom - University of Southampton)
  • Frank Nordberg (Sweden - National Agency for Higher Education)
  • Ben Vermeulen (Netherlands – Free University Amsterdam)
  • Paul Van Caesbroeck (Belgium - Director, Strategy, Planning and Management)
  • Paul Zoontjens (Netherlands - Tilburg University)
ELA Experts
  • ELA expert from Albania 
    Nikoleta Mita, Professor at Tirana University
  • ELA expert from Austria
    Walter Berka, Professor at Universität Salzburg
  • ELA expert from Belarus
    Siarhey Zenchanka, Belarusian State Pedagogical University named after Maxim Tank
  • ELA expert from the Flemish Community of Belgium
    Gracienne Lauwers, Professor at Vrije Universiteit Brussel
  • ELA expert from Brazil
    Nina Ranieri, Professor at the University of São Paulo
  • ELA expert from Bulgaria
    Jenia Peteva, dr.
  • ELA expert from Croatia
    Mirjana Dugandzij, AZVO 
  • ELA expert from Cyprus
    Aristoteles Constantinides, Professor at the University of Cyprus
  • ELA expert from Czech Republic
    Jiri Nantl, Professor at Masaryk University
  • ELA expert from Denmark
    Tore Vincents Olsen, Professor at Aarhus University
  • ELA expert from Estonia
    Jüri Ginter, Professor at Tartu University
    Merilin Kiviorg, Professor at Tartu University
  • ELA expert from Finland
    Päivi Gynther, dr.
  • ELA expert from France
    André Legrand, Professor at Université Paris X 
  • ELA expert from Germany
    Ingo Richter, Professor at the University of Tübingen
    Hans-Pieter Füssel, Professor at Humboldt University
  • ELA expert from Greece
    Theodore Fortsakis, Professor at University of Athens
  • ELA expert from Hungary
    Balazs Gerencser, Professor at Pázmány Péter Katolikus Egyetem
  • ELA expert from Ireland
    Dympna Glendenning, dr. 
  • ELA expert from Italy
    Roberto Toniatti, Professor at Trento University
  • ELA expert from Latvia
    Edvins Danovskis, Professor at University of Latvia
  • ELA expert from Lithuania
    Ausrine Pasvenskiene, Professor at Vytauto Didžiojo universitetas
  • ELA expert from Luxembourg
    Ligia Deca, University of Luxembourg
  • ELA expert from Malta
    Christopher Bezzina, Professor at University of Malta
  • ELA expert from Netherlands
    Pieter Huisman, Professor at Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam 
  • ELA expert from Norway
    Masoud Ebrahimnejad, University of Oslo
  • ELA expert from Poland
    Izabela Krasnicka, University of Bialystok
  • ELA expert from Portugal
    Pedro Barbas Homem, University of Lisbon
  • ELA expert from Romania
    Raluca Bigu-Alecu, University of Bucarest 
  • ELA expert from the Russian Federation
    Maria Smirnova, Professor at the Higher School of Economics
    Ivan Savelev, Professor at the Northern (Arctic) University named after M.V. Lomonosov
    Artemiy Rozhkov, Professor at Moscow City University 
  • ELA expert from Slovakia
    Vlasta Kunová, Professor at Comenius University
  • ELA expert from Slovenia
    Zdenko Kodelja, Professor at Ljubljana University
  • ELA expert from South Africa
    Georgia du Plessis, University of the Free State
    Mariette Reyneke, Professor at the University of the Free State 
  • ELA expert from Spain
    Camil Constantin Ungureanu, Professor at Pompeu Fabra Universitity 
  • ELA expert from Sweden
    Elisabeth Porath Sjöö, Kristianstad University
  • ELA expert from Ukraine
    Georgiy Kasianov, Professor at the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences 
  • ELA expert from United Kingdom
    Laura Lundy, Professor at Queen's University
    Neville Harris, Professor at University of Manchester
    Paul Meredith, Professor at University of Southampton
  • ELA expert from USA
    Charles Glenn, Professor at Boston University
    Charles Russo, Professor at the University of Dayton